Editor in Chief: Moh. Reza Huwaida Monday, April 22nd, 2019

IEC Unveils Final List of Candidates from 33 Provinces

IEC Unveils Final List of  Candidates from 33 Provinces

KABUL - The Independent Election Commission (IEC) released the final list of Wolesi Jirga candidates from 33 provinces on Tuesday, a day after supporters of some disqualified hopefuls shut the panel’s gates in Kabul and northeastern Badakhshan province.
The final list of contenders from 33 provinces was posted on the IEC website. Candidates from embattled Ghazni province, where fierce clashes have been underway for the last four days, are not included in the list.
The candidates' nomination process for the Oct 20 parliamentary polls began two back in Kabul in the presence of dozens of observers, representatives of political parties and media.

Maulvi Tarakhel, Fawzia Kofi, Zardad Faryadi, Qais Hassan, Sher Ali Ahmadzai, Akbar Stanikzai, Shayesta Baz Naseri and Amanullah Hotak are among the 35 candidates removed from the final list.   (Pajhwok)