Editor in Chief: Moh. Reza Huwaida Tuesday, January 22nd, 2019

Trump Signs New Travel Ban, Downsizes Targeted Countries to Six

Trump Signs New Travel Ban,  Downsizes Targeted Countries to Six

WASHINGTON - U.S. President Donald Trump on Monday signed an executive order banning nationals of six Muslim countries to enter the United States, excluding Iraq from the list of a previous ban.
The new document maintained a 90-day ban on nationals of Syria, Yemen, Sudan, Libya, Iran and Somalia from entering the United States, effective from March 16.
"Each of these countries is a state sponsor of terrorism, has been significantly compromised by terrorist organizations, or contains active conflict zones," the order said.
Nationals of the six countries who are outside the United States will be banned from entering the country, except those who are lawful permanent U.S. residences or fit other criteria, according to the new rule.
Notably missing from the list is Iraq, which has been subject to a similar ban imposed in January.
"The close cooperative relationship between the United States and the democratically elected Iraqi government, the strong United States diplomatic presence in Iraq, the significant presence of United States forces in Iraq, and Iraq's commitment to combat ISIS justify different treatment for Iraq," the document said.
The Iraqi government welcomed Washington's decision not to ban its citizens, saying "the decision is an important step in the right direction, it consolidates the strategic alliance between Baghdad and Washington in many fields, and at their forefront war on terrorism." (Xinhua)